close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a color combination to give the most comfortable contrast.
Image for event: Call to Adventure: A Fantasy Blog/Take-and-Make Journey

Call to Adventure: A Fantasy Blog/Take-and-Make Journey

Chapter 4: Food and Drink

2022-12-01 00:00:00 2022-12-01 23:59:00 America/New_York Call to Adventure: A Fantasy Blog/Take-and-Make Journey La Plata Branch -

Thursday, December 01
All day

Add to Calendar 2022-12-01 00:00:00 2022-12-01 23:59:00 America/New_York Call to Adventure: A Fantasy Blog/Take-and-Make Journey Check out "Call to Adventure" on the Children's Blog at the start of each month to read a chapter of YOUR adventure! Then, find out how to get the materials to make your own Adventurer's Kit! La Plata Branch -

Check out "Call to Adventure" on the Children's Blog at the start of each month to read a chapter of YOUR adventure! Then, find out how to get the materials to make your own Adventurer's Kit!

Have you ever read or watched something that takes place in a fantasy world and wondered, "Where did they come up with this?"

Check out our blog post "Call to Adventure" on the Children's Blog Page at the beginning of every month to read a chapter of YOUR adventures through a fantasy world as you embark on a journey to save your home from a ferocious beast! Along the way, you'll read about how some of the things you encounter in that story may have origins in the real world...

After reading the blog, you can find out how to get the materials to make a piece of your own Adventurer's Kit! The Adventure’s Kit is a Children's Take-and-Make that will be available at the La Plata Branch starting at the beginning of every month while supplies last. However, to access it, you will have to follow along with the story and use the instructions at the end of each chapter to find out how to get it. Then, complete all 6 Take-and-Makes and show all the completed kit items to a staff member to get inducted into the CCPL Adventurer's Guild and earn a special prize!

This month's theme will be "Food and Drink" and what people ate during medieval times, including meals at home, in the tavern, and on the road! After reading the blog, use the instructions at the end to get your own Adventurer's Guild Travel Bag (including Traveling Utensils)!

Charles County Public Library events are accessible for all. If you have an accessibility request, please contact programs@ccplonline.org three business days prior to the event.

La Plata Branch

Phone: 301-934-9001

Hours
Mon, Feb 06 9:00AM to 8:00PM
Tue, Feb 07 9:00AM to 8:00PM
Wed, Feb 08 9:00AM to 8:00PM
Thu, Feb 09 9:00AM to 8:00PM
Fri, Feb 10 1:00PM to 5:00PM
Sat, Feb 11 9:00AM to 5:00PM
Sun, Feb 12 Closed

About the library

Upcoming events

Wed, Feb 08, All day

Wed, Feb 08, All day

Wed, Feb 08, 6:00pm - 7:30pm

Thu, Feb 09, All day

Thu, Feb 09, All day

Thu, Feb 09, 9:30am - 9:50am

Thu, Feb 09, 10:00am - 10:30am

Thu, Feb 09, 6:30pm - 7:45pm

Fri, Feb 10, All day

Fri, Feb 10, All day

Sat, Feb 11, All day

Sat, Feb 11, All day

Mon, Feb 13, All day

Mon, Feb 13, All day

Tue, Feb 14, All day

Tue, Feb 14, All day

Wed, Feb 15, All day

Wed, Feb 15, All day

Thu, Feb 16, All day

Thu, Feb 16, All day

Thu, Feb 16, 9:30am - 9:50am

Thu, Feb 16, 10:00am - 10:30am

Fri, Feb 17, All day

Fri, Feb 17, All day

Sat, Feb 18, All day

Sat, Feb 18, All day

Tue, Feb 21, All day

Tue, Feb 21, All day

Wed, Feb 22, All day

Wed, Feb 22, All day

Thu, Feb 23, All day

Thu, Feb 23, All day

Thu, Feb 23, 9:30am - 9:50am

Thu, Feb 23, 10:00am - 10:30am

Fri, Feb 24, All day

Fri, Feb 24, All day

Sat, Feb 25, All day

Sat, Feb 25, All day

Mon, Feb 27, All day

Mon, Feb 27, All day

Tue, Feb 28, All day

Tue, Feb 28, All day

Wed, Mar 01, All day

Wed, Mar 01, All day

Thu, Mar 02, All day

Thu, Mar 02, All day

Thu, Mar 02, 9:30am - 9:50am

Thu, Mar 02, 10:00am - 10:30am

Thu, Mar 02, 10:45am - 11:45am

Fri, Mar 03, All day

Fri, Mar 03, All day

Sat, Mar 04, All day

Sat, Mar 04, All day

Mon, Mar 06, All day

Mon, Mar 06, All day

Tue, Mar 07, All day

Tue, Mar 07, All day

Wed, Mar 08, All day

Wed, Mar 08, All day

Thu, Mar 09, All day

Thu, Mar 09, All day

Thu, Mar 09, 9:30am - 9:50am

Thu, Mar 09, 10:00am - 10:30am

Thu, Mar 09, 6:30pm - 7:45pm

Fri, Mar 10, All day

Fri, Mar 10, All day